PDA

View Full Version : New to LC - Carb fanatic - will need support!

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

JessDMB41
Tue, Aug-08-06, 20:52
Hello all, I'm a newbie here at the forums, and to the lifestyle that is low carb. My name is Jess, and I'm 24, a full time mom and full time nursing student.

I'm going to be starting on the atkins diet, and basically want to limit the carbs to 20-40g per day. I have a relative who's been on the diet for a couple wks and has lost pretty steadily so I figured I'd do my best. I, of course am a complete carb junkie. I crave them and when I do, will do just about anything until my craving is satisfied. I am going to be strong though and I came here for support and so far everything looks great.

I made it through half a day thusfar considering I started mid day :) I'm completely full right now from a turkey salad and egg whites, which I was surprised by, and I hope I can still have some variety in my diet which I absolutely need to be sane.

Any tips, advice, are more than welcome. :wave:

liddie01
Tue, Aug-08-06, 21:02
Hi Jess, and welcome, you will find a lot of support here, also a lot of ideas for food and recipes, enjoy yourself! :wave:

freckles
Tue, Aug-08-06, 22:32
I, of course am a complete carb junkie. I crave them and when I do, will do just about anything until my craving is satisfied.

If this is the case I would HIGHLY recommend you going on strict induction for the two week minimum. That will cure you of your carb cravings. You can begin upping your carbs after the two weeks, but that two weeks will certainly cure those cravings. Good luck to you. freckles

JessDMB41
Tue, Aug-08-06, 22:40