PDA

View Full Version : Okay, Already, Here's My Introduction!

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

40Thin
Mon, Jan-31-05, 08:43
What an awesome forum folks - I'm glad to have found this resource! I'm a 40-year-old writer/webmistress/stay-at-home mom who has lost 3 lbs in my first week and a half on what I'm calling a "modified" Atkins program. I have 23 more lbs to go ... Really, I'm just eating high-protein, low carb, good fats etc., but I do include fruit and red wine -- so there! I'm trying to stay in the 25-30 net carb range per day. I have been keeping a diary most days and have a net carb counter that I've relied on.

I actually abandoned LA Weight Loss for this low-carb lifestyle. Some of you may be familiar with LAWL, which costs a small fortune -- I did lose 8 lbs last summer on it, but gained them back easily and was hungry all the time. What I really love about this low-carb kind of eating is the natural appetite suppression and elimination of cravings for carbs/sweets. I went from having MULTIPLE desserts per day over the holidays to now either having no sweets per day or an occassional low-carb treat like LC ice cream or hot cocoa -- with lots of fresh whipped cream of course! :yum: And not feeling deprived ...