Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Low Carb Health & Technical Forums > Cholesterol, Heart Disease
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Thu, Jan-06-05, 16:55
Registered Member

Plan: Weight Lifting Plan
Stats: 260/247.5/150 Male 67
BF:
Progress: 11%
Angry I got suckered into Lipitor. Can I ever stop taking it

Noob Here. There is alot of heart Disease on my mothers side. We all have High Chl and Trigs and are all on Meds. I wanted to start Atkins and go run my but off to get the levels down but my wife for fear that I would have a heart attack asked me to start taking them. I was told by my doctor that If I didnt take them now I would eventually be taking them at some time. I have had no side effects exept for the price tag every month . My question is if I am able to control my levels on Atkins can I ever get off of Lipitor. I heard that if you do you could have a heart attack. I think that is what happened to Bill Clinton. I beleive that my total CHL was 234 and cant remember was TRIGs were.
Sponsored Links
  #2   ^
Old Thu, Jan-06-05, 17:24

Plan: Paleoish/Keto
Stats: 225/167/175 Male 71.5 inches
BF:18%
Progress: 116%

I quit taking them. Going to a low-carb diet gave me the same blood chemistry at a cheaper price. I did cut the dose in half for a month before quiting. I have been drug free for over two years now.