Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Low Carb Health & Technical Forums > Candida Yeast & IBS
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Fri, Sep-26-08, 11:36

Plan: anti yeast diet
Stats: 158/158/125 Female 68.5 inches
BF:
Progress: 0%
Question Anti Yeast Diet and Hypothyroidism

This is my first time posting so I'm not sure if I should post this here or to the Thyroid section. I have hypothyroidism- have since I was 19 and am almost 27 now. I went 3 years undiagnosed dealing with sudden weight gain of 30 lbs in just 3 months, fatigue, IBS etc etc. I finally was diagnosed in 2004 got on thyroid meds and the world got back to normal in just under a year. Last year however, I underwent a tremendous amount of stress and suddenly everything came back- the fatigue, IBS, brain fog, weight gain of 50 lbs in just 3 months, menstrual irregularities, hair loss, etc. I have tried every combo of thyroid meds (I can't tolerate synthetic t4 at all so I've always been on Armour but we added cytomel to see if I would improve and I did a little bit but my heart rate greatly increased and only 5 lb weight loss in a year). I was talking to someone I know the other day and she mentioned something about yeast overgrowth. Here sister-in-law is struggling with many of the things I am going through and one of the things they found was a yeast overgrow