Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Success Stories
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Mark Forums Read Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

View comments Article tools
I've been low-carbing for 20 years!
Posted by Dodger
Posted Tue, Jan-25-22
Male 71.5 inches
Plan: Paleoish/Keto
Stats: 225/167/175
BF:18%
Progress: 116%
Default I've been low-carbing for 20 years!

It doesn't seem that long ago to me.
Before I tried reducing my carb intake, I was doing the low-fat dieting regime and finding that my weight was not really going down, my blood chemistry was getting worse, I was on more prescription drugs and my food tasted horrible.
My physician, who had originally put me on low-fat, suggested that I switch to low-carb eating. I resisted at first but he then gave me a copy of Gary Taubes' article "What if It's All Been a Big Fat Lie" and my thinking about not eating fat started to change. My physician then gave me a glucose tolerance test which showed that my blood glucose was within limits but my insulin level was extremely high to keep the glucose down. I was definitely on the way to diabetes.