Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Low Carb Health & Technical Forums > General Health
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Wed, Jul-06-05, 22:03

Plan: Atkins
Stats: 136/129/118 Female 5 ft 2 in
BF:
Progress: 39%
Default Please Read! "Herbal Magic"

Guys, I am a nursing student and we are out in the hospitals getting our clinical practise. I saw something today that you guys will not believe. I think that I can vouch for all the Canadian's and say that we, as ex-dieters have heard of the Herbal Magic diet, and may perhaps have seen the stores around in your area. Anyways, I am stationed in a heavy care unit and one of the patients on our floor was on it. The patient was admitted to the hospital 7 years ago when the diet they were on caused a stroke, later leading to severe brain damage, then decline, now vegetative state. I kid you not folks, and yes the Dr.'s and lab tests confirmed that it indeed was the cause of it. What happened was this persons potassium level was depleted and potassium is one of the important electrolytes in our body. I realise that we are on Atkin's, but I know of several friends that are on Herbal Magic, and I cannot stress enough this story. Those of you who do know of someone on this diet, please advise them to go to their dr. and get their blood and electrolytes tested. Or even advise them to