Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Daily Low-Carb Support > Schwarzbein Principle
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Mark Forums Read Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Wed, Dec-17-08, 21:21

Plan: Atkins
Stats: 225/211/165 Female 5 foot 8 inches
BF:
Progress: 23%
Default New to Schwartzbein and questions!

Hi,

I am new to this plan and actually just ordered the book and have not read it. But I was just diagnosed with type 2 diabetes and after hours of reserach on the internet, this plan, originally devised for type 2 diabetics, sounds right for me. I need to know a few things if someone can help. I have cataracts and cannot drive - I am only 48 and a mom of two and this is HARD. I finally found a charity to cover the cost of surgery, but my BP is so high and they found other health problems, including diabetes, and they won't take the cataracts out until everything is under control. I can't just run to the grocery store when my book comes as I have no willing drivers! I will be going Friday to the store and probably won't get to again for a couple of weeks and I am anxious to get a start due to the crisis of needing a cataract out so I can drive again!

My questions -

From what I read, I will need whole milk and dairy?

Are carrots allowed? Cucumber? Celery?