Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Low-Carb Support Focus Groups > Pre-Maintenance & Maintenance
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Wed, Jul-30-08, 09:58

Plan: Organic Dukan Attack
Stats: 132/129.4/116 Female 4' 11"
BF:
Progress: 16%
Default Can't explain the weight gain HELP!

I have been using Fitday religiously for three years. This year, after 2 years of low carb success, I have watched my weight go up by 6 lbs. At first I chalked it up to "the holidays," and I clamped down on the carbs in late January. Weight still went up. THen I got serious and went back to strict induction, even using Atkins '72 induction for a couple of weeks. My energy levels went through the floor, I got intractable insomnia, and my weight continued to climb. I returned to 40 net carbs per day and I began sleeping and exercising again, but the weight continued to climb each week. (For the record, it definitely isn't muscle mass--I am truly flabby and bloated.)

Yesterday, I spent hours going over my Fitday records and I find that I have been averaging EXACTLY the same number of calories and carbs these past 2-3 months as I did during my most successful periods of low carb weight loss. I effortlessly maintained my weight at 113-114 last year at exactly the same averages and macro percentages that I am using now.