PDA

View Full Version : [Zone] a little help needed

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Louzone
Thu, Apr-10-03, 12:19
Good afternoon,
I am new to the zone, I have the zone and soyzone books. I have not read them from cover to cover but I believe I have the basic idea. I have been doing the hand method of the zone...protein the size of my palm and carb the size of my fist but I would like to get into it a little deeper. For lunch today I had a morningstar veggie corn dog and 1/2 a cup of cottage cheese and a small salad with no dressing.
This is how I figured the blocks out...is this right?

Corn Dog 22 carbs, 3 fiber and 7 grams of protein
Light and lively cottage cheese..per 1/2 cup
5g carbs, 0 fiber and 12 g protein

22-3+5= 24/9= 2.6 block of carbs
7+12=19/7= 2.7 blocks of protein

PHEW!!!!! Did I do this right......

Thanks for all the help....I will get this..I hope ;)

Breecita
Fri, Apr-11-03, 05:42
I'm not too experienced but it looks fairly good to me... (though make sure you have a bit of fat in there, as well, as I understand that's an important part of the forumua!)

I tried to figure things out using the grams... but right now, since I'm just getting used to it, I find it FAR easier to look in the books and use their measurements.

I'm pretty sure if you look in t he back of the Zone book, there should be at least a small chart listing some major foods and their blocks... try putting together meals that way.

There is a nice big book that has listings of hundreds of food items and their blocks, including a section in the back that does the same for fast food restaurants! :D

lisalaura
Fri, Apr-11-03, 13:01
Maybe I can help. So, you had: