PDA

View Full Version : [Zone] What is Tom Yesterday?

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

headstrong
Fri, Apr-04-03, 12:48
I'm still pretty new to this diet... sorry for the newbie questions. I've seen this "Tom Yesterday" term a few times now on this site, but haven't got a clue what that means. I don't remember reading about that in my Atkins or Zone books.

Another question I have is this: I've been on the Zone for a about 2 and a half weeks or so, and haven't seen any weight loss. This wouldn't really concern me too much except for the fact that I went on Atkins for 3 months and was very dilligent and didn't lose weight on that either. Nothing on induction...so I went more and more extreme with the diet until I was basically on a fat fast for a month and still no weight loss. Obviously, that kind of diet didn't work for me. Even with pink ketosis strips (though never a desired deep red) , I didn't lose a pound in 3 months.... but I did manage to gain 10 pounds immediately following. The diet itself was horrible enough (caffeine & carb withdrawls FROM HELL, grossed myself out with excessive amounts of fats, felt generally crappy all the time.... Augh!) But the aftermath of the instant weight gain just added insult to injury and makes me very nervous about entering into another diet of this sort.

I'm wondering if anyone has ever heard of anyone that was just absolutely NOT ABLE to lose weight on induction or fat fast? And, if it IS possible that some people just can't lose weight on this kind of diet... then could it be that the Zone could be just a bit too similar to Atkins and perhaps it isn't right for my stubborn body either?