PDA

View Full Version : I'm new!

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

ConshyGirl
Wed, Feb-12-03, 19:25
I'm Ellie and I am new to the LC way of life and to this forum. Today is actually the last day of my two week induction on Atkins and I have to say - I feel Great!

I finally feel like I have found the solution to my weight problem that will work for me for a lifetime. I've been on Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, LA Weight Loss, you name it. And while I was moderately successful on all of these programs, I never felt that I could make that type of eating a way of life. I lost over 65 lbs on WW about 10 years ago and I think it was mostly due to pure determination and frenzied exercise. I can remember crying some nights because I was SO hungry, but I refused to cheat. It was painful. I now understand what was fueling those hunger pangs and those god awful cravings. I can still remember pacing the kitchen muttering to myself - "I have 2 points left, what can I eat, WHAT CAN I EAT????" Usually ended up with 3 pieces of melba toast or some similar weak excuse for food. Some nights I would go to bed really early just so I could look forward to getting up and eating! That's sad, isn't it?

Anyway, the best part of LC is truly understanding for the first time how my body reacts to carbs - it's a total revelation and although I'm a long way from goal, I feel content already about my decision to embark on this new way of life.

It's great reading all the posts here and sharing the support of fellow LCers! You guys are great and I'm happy to be here. Thanks for the welcome!

Star85
Wed, Feb-12-03, 19:39
Hi Ellie!