PDA

View Full Version : Chinese Beef Stir Fry

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

SarahO
Mon, Nov-11-02, 20:14
This is my first time posting a recipe, hope y'all enjoy it. The recipe is adapted from "China Moon Cookbook" by Barbara Tropp. It's a bit complicated but the results were worth it.

Ingredients:

1# flank steak or round roast, trimmed

marinade:
1 Tb. soy sauce
2 Tb. chili oil

aromatics:
1 Tb. minced fresh ginger
2 cloves minced garlic
1 small fresh chili (optional)

sauce:
1/2 cup chicken stock
1 Tb. soy sauce
1 packet Splenda
2 Tb. dry white whine
2 Tb. white wine vinegar

veggies:
1 1/2 cup asparagus, cut into 1 inch chunks
1/4 # mushrooms
1 bunch spinach, washed and coarsely chopped
1/2 cup chopped scallion
1 teas. Not/Starch dissolved in 1 Tb. stock or water

Cut the beef into slices 1" x 2" x 1/4" thick.

Mix the marinade ingredients together, toss with the beef, and cover for at least 3 hours or overnight.

Combine the aromatics in a small bowl and set aside.

Combine the sauce ingredients, blend to dissolve the Splenda, and set aside.

Blanch or steam the asparagus until tender but still crisp. Cool in ice water and drain.

About 20 minutes before serving, saute the beef but do not overcook. It will cook a little more at the end, so leave it a little rare. Set aside.

Heat the same pan to medium-high, add more oil if necessary, and saute the aromatics for 20 - 30 seconds. Adjust the heat so they don't burn.

Add the mushrooms and saute until softened but not cooked to death, 2-4 minutes.

Add the spinach and scallion and toss until spinach is softened, less than a minute.

Stir in the cooked beef and asparagus.