PDA

View Full Version : Hi. I'm hopeful

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

risingwind
Tue, Oct-08-02, 07:36
Hi. I'm 34, partnered with 3 step sons. I work full time as an IT systems manager. I also play ice hockey in the Cincinanti Women's program and ride with the Motor Maids women's motorcycling club.

About 6 years ago I gained relentlessly, 60 pounds in 6 months, then added another 15 pounds to round out to a full 255 pounds. I didn't think I was eating particualrly poorly, but I definitely was eating a lot: 4 servings of spaghetti for dinner then another 2-4 servings in the middle of the night when I would wake up starving. Then I switched to rice and tuna which is when my weight stabilized, but it wasn't going down after a year.

I've always believed that you loose weight by burning more than you take in, no diet plan needed, so I started eating even better. I bought a share of an organic farm and I really upped the workouts. Until about 10 weeks ago I was down to 224 pounds and 37% body fat then for the first time in years, I went nuts. I ate everything that didn't eat me first and hit 236 and 39%. Three and a half years of effort gone in 6 weeks. So I knew I needed to more agressively loose weight to avoid getting discouraged.