PDA

View Full Version : diabetes and schwartzbein diet

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

drrmoore
Wed, Sep-04-02, 12:31
Hello low carb dieters. I am a family physician and see a lot of patients with problems of obesity and diabetes
Very few can lose weight with standard advice so their diabetes does not improve. I am speaking of type 2 diabetes. I am curious to find out if the Schartwartzbein diet is helping diabetes in a general wqay. My wife has adopted this diet plan for us and I enjoy being on it myself. I am amazed how sweet plan fruit tastes now and how regular deserts seem too sweet. Thank you.

lisaf
Wed, Sep-04-02, 13:18
I'm not sure about SP and diabetes though maybe some members here can speak to that. I do know that many low-carbers have had success controlling their blood sugar using a variety of different low-carb plans!

Lisa

amika
Thu, Sep-05-02, 00:10
Hi Dr Richard and Lisa!

Although I don't know much about the SP diet, I believe LCing is very helpful in controlling bGs. Last June, as indicated at the bottom of my posts, A1c results were quite high. I decided to do as much as I could to get them down. After a few days on Montignac and taking my bGs more often throughout the day, I picked up Dr Bernstein Diabetes Solution and reduced carbos to between 30 to 50 grams per day, limited to low glycemic index foods - mostly veggies and occasionally berries.