PDA

View Full Version : Brand-new CAD/CALP-er! Help!

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

catinhat
Sun, Aug-25-02, 08:31
Hello, all.

I am new to this part of the site, but I've been active at this site since late May. I have been doing protein power and have lost 27 pounds. I have 'cheated' a lot, which is what brings me here.

I read the first book a long time ago (CAD) and tried it, but I wasn't being sensible about the reward meal, so it didn't work, plus I felt really horrid! Now, I'm reading CALP, and that is helping me understand how this has to work. Because protein power is starting to 'get to me', I have decided to give this a try. I am not here because I 'get to eat pie and cake and candy', but because I get to eat beans, whole grain bread and some fruits that I miss. I want to continue to develop healthy habits, and I want 'treats' to be something that I have occasionally, not every day.

I am wondering if any successful CAD folks are willing to tell me about their rate of loss, the benefits and drawbacks of this plan, etc. For me, right now, it feels closer to how I want to ultimately eat and relate to food. It feels like a step toward 'forever' eating habits, so that's why I'm giving it a try. All told, from my highest weight (pre low-carb), I have lost 69 pounds, and I have 66 more to go, so it's not like I'm almost done or anything. If this allows me to eat 'normally' and continue to lose, that would be fantastic. If not, I hope to maintain for a while, get my bearings, then perhaps go back to something more restricted.