PDA

View Full Version : New and getting frustrated!

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

kypraia
Wed, Aug-21-02, 01:05
Hi, this is my first day here :wave: and it's great to see how much people are helping each other out! I'm new to low-carbing and I'm hoping for a little help myself; I've been doing it for 3 weeks, and while I lost 10 pounds in the first two weeks, I've actually gained a few pounds back since then! I am so careful not to cheat, I look up everything I eat and keep a journal, I don't use caffeine or alcohol, and I exercise every day both cardio and resistance. I need to lose A LOT of weight (70 pounds!!) to be healthy, and I'm beginning to think my body is as stubborn as a mule when it comes to fat loss. (BTW, I'm on the Protein Power plan, but I usually consume about 18-20 grams of carbs a day). oh yeah, and i'm female and in my 20's.

I've measured myself and there is no appreciable difference in my measurements, although my jeans fit better. I just wish I could see a downward movement instead of this frightening creep upward. Has anyone else had this experience? If so, when will it end?? I was prepared for slow results, but not for negative ones!! Help!

Thanks for the support!!
Kyp.

JeffE
Wed, Aug-21-02, 08:51
This sounds pretty normal to me....I had a plateau after my first two weeks, too. You do lose a lot of water weight when you begin, and then your body is trying to right itself from what it sees as possible starvation. It might help to eat some unsaturated fats, like macadamia nuts or peanuts, and otherwise just keep on keeping on....you should start to lose weight again in a week or so, but not as fast as you did before.

Cheers,