PDA

View Full Version : Brand New

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

SCcheri
Fri, Jul-19-02, 13:33
Hi, my name is Cheri and I'm a freelance writer who lives in South Carolina. For most of my life I was slim and trim. When I hit 45 the pounds started coming on. I'm now carrying about 30-35 pounds in excess weight. I have what may be a stupid question. I was wondering if any of you had about the same amount of weight to take off. I've been thinking about starting low carbing for some time, but always seemed to read how people who needed to lose substantially more than me were having success. Is this diet appropriate for any and all amounts of weight loss?

Talon
Fri, Jul-19-02, 13:46
Welcome Cheri! :wave:

Low Carb eating is not necessarily a "diet", but a way of eating for optimal health. So yes, we have many here who need/or have needed to loose 10 to 400+ pounds!

Most of us who follow this WOE (Way of eating) are doing it for life. Oftentimes if you use this as a tool to just lose weight, and then go back to the way your were eating, the weight will most likely come back.

Look around this site, and familiarize yourself with all the benefits to this way of eating - not only weight loss, you might be surprised! Some include: more energy, lower cholesterol, blood sugar under control, hunger under control, and many many more.

Whatever you choose, make sure you take your vitamins!

SCcheri
Fri, Jul-19-02, 13:52
Thanks, Talon. I will wander around and review the site. So far I think this site is one of the most informative I have found.

VictoriaT
Fri, Jul-19-02, 15:06
Hello