PDA

View Full Version : are protein shakes legal for phase I?

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

thriftigi
Thu, Jul-18-02, 20:43
Hi! I'm a newbie to PP with a question. Can I use protein shakes to fulfill my protein requirements for the day when I'm not really hungry?
Thanks

glenzilly
Thu, Jul-18-02, 22:25
Protein shakes should be ok as long as they fall within acceptable carbohydrate levels for the particular meal.

Glen

DebraAnn
Fri, Jul-19-02, 04:12
Try this recipe to make your own proein shake. I love this one! It is based on the "Protein Power Plan Cookbook and Food Guide" with a few of my own changes to lower the carbs!

Fruit Smoothie
Serves 1

Ingredients
Strawberries 1/4 c.
Sour cream 2 tbsps.
skim milk 1 cup
protein poweder 2 heaping tbsps.
Vanilla extract 1/2 tsp.
Sweet & Low 1 packet
Juice of 1 lime
dash of salt
3/4 c. ice cubes

Directions:
Mix all ingredients together in a blender and drink immediately.
* Use which ever fruit you prefer at a 5g. serving!

jdringer
Sat, Jul-20-02, 17:05