PDA

View Full Version : New & Clueless

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

lauramarie
Mon, Jun-17-02, 05:44
Hi, I'm new and dont' really know where to start. I 24 and have always been overweight. My husband and I have done some research and this looks like the way to go. I really enjoy bread and potatos, so this is probably going to be very hard for me. A few starter questions, if you don't mind!?! Nuts are okay, what about natural peanut butter. And I need some good recipes for some sort of LC bread.

squidgy
Tue, Jun-18-02, 16:45
Ummm, I didn't think that LC bread existed ... but hey. I'm a newbie myself, I could be wrong.

One thing I have learnt so far is that low carbing isn't a quick fix. You'd really be well advised to look through different plans, get a book or two about them and have a word with your doc before making any sort of deliberate attempt to change or control your eating habits.

Don't be put off by that, though. Like I say, I'm still only at the stage of having booked doctor's appointments so that I can get my health checked out so that I know where I'm starting from, and I haven't actually embarked on a diet yet. However, I've been hearing some pretty encouraging things about it, and it looks like it might not be nearly as difficult as I first imagined. :)

Sorry that's a big vague and wishy-washy, but hopefully someone better informed might give more specific advice. Take care. :)

Rosebud
Tue, Jun-18-02, 18:05
Hi Lauramarie,

Welcome to the forum!

As a start, how about having a good look around the site. The "Low Carb Tips" on the orange bar at the top offer some great tips.