PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Intro.

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

jamacker
Mon, Oct-20-14, 12:55
Hello all, my name is Joe. I am a 35 married male with 3 kids Chandler(6), Brooklyn(3), and Olivia(11weeks). I am 5"9 and weight 330. I have high bp and I am a diabetic. I have been taking bystolic once a day to treat my bp and 500mg of metformin twice a day to trreat the blood sugar. I work in IT in an educational setting. While I don't exercise, I do get out once a week and play volleyball for about 45min to an hour. I am interested in the low carb lifestyle not only to lose weight, but to also help improve my blood sugar. I don't know how realistic it is, but I would love to be down to 220lbs(this is a number the Dr. said would be ideal for me). I know there are several different LC lifestyle plans. I just have to find the one that fits me. My biggest issues are sweets, sodas, and potatos/rice. Healthy things that I love to eat include broccoli, lettuce, cucumbers. I also love chicken breast, steak, and turkey. My Dr. recommends ideal protein, but I don't want to just jump into something without knowing what's best for me. If I do chose a program, I want to try to do it without purchasing meals and plans and shakes from these companies and try to get them alternatively, mainly because of cost. Any and all help greatly appreciated. It would also be cool to find a few people that are starting they lifestyle change at the same time so that we can encourage one another and keep in touch with our losses and any unsuspected gains. Not sure what the policy here is with email contact, but I will leave my email address here if anyone wants to leave their opini