PDA

View Full Version : Newbie says hello

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

lbridges
Wed, Sep-18-13, 18:33
Hello,

A couple of months ago I stepped onto the scale and saw it hit 250 lbs. This was a figure "NEVER EVER" to be displayed. Something HAD to be done.

So I started to "diet" with really no idea of what I was doing, mostly cutting out the obviously sugar products and cutting back what I ate. So of course I also cheated with lots of watermelon and grapes thinking fruit couldn't hurt could it?

Looked around the web for diets with a long term view as well some science behind them (I'm a physicist who knows virtually nothing about the human body, but has enormous respect for theory followed by trial/experiment).

I'm on an extended business trip (makes dieting fun) and found a couple of books from Dr. Atkins in the dollar bookstore in Long Beach, CA (they had South Beach as well, but being from Florida, South Beach seems just too much). I have been reviewed lots of forum topics during the evening, and today decided I should probably join vice hiding in the background.

Anyway, began Atkins induction phase 4 days ago although I was using a semi-low carb approach before induction (about 6 weeks worth). I am pegging my official Atkins beginning weight at 227.

Don't plan to weigh myself until I go home for a short visit mid October. Cooking with an in-room microwave and a small George Foreman grill I picked up at a local discount store.

Ketostix imply I'm in the zone - between small and moderate - I am hoping for a good surprise when I next climb up on that scale.