PDA

View Full Version : new to carbing business

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

annie54
Fri, May-24-02, 02:32
hello out there. i am new to this carbing business and find it all quite confusing. i havent read the books yet, so am a litte in the dark about a few things. what veg should i avoid? i have been having half a corn on the cob and a tomatoe is that ok? i am in induction phase i think????. also i would appreciate any advice you think i need. i am going to a chinese retaurant for a birthday tonight and have nooo idea what i can/cant eat. any help would be much apreciated.
i live in glasgow, scotland so if there is anyone near me let me know how you are getting on. will speak to you all again soon, annie x

TeriDoodle
Fri, May-24-02, 05:04
You absolutely need to read at least one low-carb book before starting on this way of life.....as this IS a way of LIFE, not a crash diet to lose 10 or 15 lbs and then go back to eating carbs....you'll gain it all back so fast it'll make your head spin!!

Are you prepared to change the way you eat FOR LIFE when you haven't even educated yourself properly? :nono:

I recommend Protein Power by Eades as a good place to start.... they explain the science behind this way of eating quite well.

Good luck to you!

LittleAnne
Fri, May-24-02, 07:44
Hi Annie

Welcome to this forum from another UK ite. How is Scotland today?

You must get a book and read it before you really can get underway as the information is really valuable. I think that Protein Power or Atkins are probably the best first reads, but I prefered Diana Schwazbein's book best.