PDA

View Full Version : Newbie from Kentucky

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

AllenLou
Thu, Jul-05-12, 20:56
Hi all,

I found these forums a few weeks ago after reading Gary Taubes book Why We Get Fat and looking for more information. The people on here have a great attitude and seem really friendly and open to help which is why I decided to join.

My background, I was big as a kid but in HS found football and got it under control, maintained about 220lbs until I was about 25 when my wife (then girlfriend) reintroduced me to cookies as a sweet gesture. It wasn't bad when I worked in a factory walking 11 miles per day, but then I went back to college, got my degree and now work in a cube. Since then I've blown up to almost 290. What shocks me so much is that this is the weight one of my good friends was when I met him years ago, now he's having major issues and weighing in at almost 390. Seeing my future if I don't change really gives clarity. back in the first week of April I completely gave up softdrinks and teas and only occasionally have kool-aid. After having read Why We Get Fat, I realize now is the time to give up carbs and so I've decided to go Atkins (primarily because it's the biggest most common of the low carb diets). I'm currently in the research stage, still reading the books, learning how to think of things and ultimately, preparing the kitchen for induction.