PDA

View Full Version : Cream is impossible to find!

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

keith v
Wed, Jun-13-12, 18:06
well at my one grocery store anyway.
The best they have is 'whipping cream" by our lovely drug pushing mass food distributors

It does have cream, but also milk, gar gum and some other crap.

I was livid, no real cream? Really?

I even cornered the dairy guy...
"I've been doing this for 35 years, no one sells 100% cream"

OMG I hate big Food manufacturers
Ahhhhhhhh

LilyB
Wed, Jun-13-12, 18:56
I'd love to buy raw milk and REAL cream, but in my state it is ILLEGAL. So... I buy the best I can find, wherever that is...

*Sigh*

keith v
Wed, Jun-13-12, 19:41
well I did find these guys
Looks like the nearby co op should carry their stuff.

http://www.cedarsummit.com/product/dairy/

SylvieK
Wed, Jun-13-12, 20:33
I sympathize, when I lived in WI, the state famous for cheese and dairy, it was impossible to find real cream anywhere in the city I lived in.

I tried every supermarket and there was NO brand that didn't have carageenan or other additives anywhere. Supposedly Organic Valley has a version of cream without additives but no one carried it.

I suggest looking for a local dairy and seeing if they can deliver to you. Try plugging your zip code into the Local Harvest website and see what comes up; then contact the dairies/farmers directly to see what they offer (and often you may be able to find them at farmers' markets).

http://www.localharvest.org/

You may also find sources on the Eat Wild site.

Pinot-Girl
Thu, Jun-14-12, 08:11
Oh my, I've just seen my cream which I've been buying has that Carageem stuff in it too....