PDA

View Full Version : "New" Atkins bars -- HOW many carbs??

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

bluebonnet
Sat, May-11-02, 13:49
Hi, everybody! I'm a complete newbie, and one of the reasons I got on this forum was because of a question I have about the "New, Improved" Atkins Advantage "candy" bars. I've been eating the "old" ones for a couple of years, and when I tried one of the new ones the other day (the improved Mocha one -- total yum :yum: !!), I was so impressed with how absolutely sinful it tasted that I thought, "They must've upped the carbs a little to make it so good." I looked on the nutrition info section and nearly passed out when I saw 22 carbs listed there! :eek: Then I noticed it said I only had to "count" 3 of them. Ummm, they explained it, sorta, but I'm not convinced. How could something that technically has 22 carbs be counted only as 3? I'm not officially on the Atkins Diet, just trying to keep my carbs down to 60 or so a day (hypoglycemia and weight-loss), so how does this work for me? Am I knocking out a third of my daily carbs when I eat one of these babies, or what? :confused:

Thanks for any help!

bluebonnet

rebecky
Sat, May-11-02, 14:24
Hi! I am a newbie at this too, and have only had one Atkins bar and must admit I only remember seeing something like 2 carbs on the back, but I am guessing that maybe if you subtract the fiber from the carbs, that you get your total net carbs of 3? Just a thought..sorry I couldnt be of more help.

Becky

Lisa N
Sat, May-11-02, 15:18