PDA

View Full Version : I believe, at last I believe!

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

hey_Neener
Sat, Aug-20-11, 20:47
I've been lowcarbing on and off since 2003. In all that time, I've read of the virtues of cauliflower as a potato substitue, and was skeptical and wouldn't try it. Recently I read about cauliflower "rice" and finally gave it a try. There is almost no taste to it, and it made a great rice substitute base under my chili verde! Finally! I believe!
It was as simple as grating in the food processor, using a vented covered bowl and microwaving for five minutes. Mmmm mmm!

freckles
Sat, Aug-20-11, 21:42
This is funny! I <too> have been lc-ing since 2003 and never have tried the cauli rice. I'm not a huge fan of rice, but I've been climbing the carb ladder and thinking ahead and I DO like fried rice....Been hoping I can include it, but if I can't I will def try the cauli rice!

As far as cauli as a potato replacement....worked pretty well for me when I could have dairy and add cream cheese/sour cream/cheddar....but now that I can't it's not even close unless I have a meat gravy from a roast or some such. :yum:

mainecyn
Sat, Aug-20-11, 21:49
I was very skeptical as well. It actually becomes addictive.

hey_Neener
Sat, Aug-20-11, 22:02
I'm suspecting as much, I'm already planning to get another head tomorrow.

Elizellen
Sun, Aug-21-11, 03:59
I also use caulirice in stirfries! That reminds me, I have a tupperware box of grated cauliflower in the fridge, so might make one tonight.

walnut
Sun, Aug-21-11, 08:31
caulirice is also great for homemade sushi :)

Nancy LC
Sun, Aug-21-11, 08:33