PDA

View Full Version : I'm new and haven't really gotten started yet

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

abbyful
Tue, May-24-11, 06:36
Hi everyone! I just wanted to introduce myself. My name is Abby, I live in Kansas City with my fiance (will be husband on June 7th 2011!) and 3 dogs. I work as a web developer at a hospital. I was born & raised in rural Kansas, grew up on a farm, moved to the "big city" after college.

My hobbies include my dogs, one of which I show at AKC shows; cooking; ethnic cuisine (love Ethiopian, hands-down my all-time favorite cuisine); and more recently added is learning more about nutrition and health.

About a year and a half ago, wondering how I could "eat better". I was eating all the stuff I thought was healthy but I didn't really feel healthy: low fat, lots of whole-grain, basically trying to follow the food pyramid. It just didn't really seem right, so I started doing some research and came across books by Michael Pollan and Nina Planck. I've since then ditched pretty much all processed junk and became an obsessive label-reader: no HFCS, no hydrogenated oil, no soy, no chemical preservatives, etc. So I'm currently on what I refer to as a "real food" diet. In a way I feel kind of stupid because it seems like it should be common sense to try to eat only "real food" and not "food-like substances", but I had been brainwashed by the food pyramid and government recommendations.