PDA

View Full Version : LC for Fibromyalgia?

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

brunett43
Wed, May-18-11, 06:11
Hello everyone!

This is my first post as I've been lurking in this site for about 2 weeks now.
I'm a 51 yr old female. Several years ago I weighed 145 lbs 5' 6" and was lean with muscle. I was very active and healthy. Between 2003-05 I had 3 auto accidents (not my fault).
I suffered a minor brain injury, quad 2 whiplash and a low back injury. At the time I was a sales consultant. Everything went down hill from there as I continue to have chronic pain. I was put on a cocktail of meds but after 3 years I dumped them down the toilet as I believe they made me sicker. During this time my weight skyrocketed and I have since gained 80lbs. I have since been doing a ton of research on how to heal myself. Because of pain and depression I have a very low appetite. And couldn't understand how I put on all this weight. I think I was starving myself, so every morsel was stored as fat. During my recent research I discovered Gary Taubes. And a light bulb went off. I realized that my diet had changed, as I was consuming mostly carbs and avoiding proteins. Because I have PCOS, I think I've become insulin resistant.

No doctor will listen to me as I challenge them with my research, I'm on my own now to regain my health. My stress level is very high as I have been in litigation regarding my accidents for 8 yrs now. I think the stress is also a factor in my weight (high cortisol).