PDA

View Full Version : newbie

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

dmichelleb
Tue, May-17-11, 13:15
Hi gang. I'm a Hospice Nurse in Ottumwa IA. Struggled w/ wt. since H.S. Have more than 100 to lose. Tried this before & lost wt., but finally had to have some comfort carbs. How do you ever get over that?

gonwtwindo
Thu, May-19-11, 08:55
#1 I put a lot of effort into cooking luscious stuff. Check this out:

http://genaw.com/lowcarb/induction_menus/induction_menus.html

Click on a menu and all the recipes for the day come up...click on the recipe and you'll see a picture. These have become my new comfort foods. If you don't put some time and effort into preparing something yummy to eat, the diet will seem too limiting. I was in that rut and it is no fun!

Linda has plenty of other recipes, too that are delicious. Snoop around the site a bit, make a plan and get to the store. That is my best advice. I have to have something interesting and yummy to eat or I make bad food choices.

I too lost (60 lbs) then regained. I just don't want to do that again, but who knows how long my resolve will last. I do know that I have to make the effort. Every day that I at least maintain my weight is a hedge against gain. A loss is worth being really happy for!

Anyway welcome again and I wish you the best. :)

ShaneInMN
Thu, May-19-11, 10:22