PDA

View Full Version : Just getting started...lots of questions!

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

amehrkens
Tue, Mar-01-11, 16:09
I am just getting started on my LC journey and I have lots of questions. I have started reading the Atkins new revolution but I am not finished yet. I started my LC journey 2-28-11 in hopes that it will boost my weight loss....I think I have hit a plateau. Questions I have:

How long does it take to reach ketosis?
Is there a way other than test strips to tell if you are in ketosis?
Yesterday I went over in my soduim by 800mg...how big of a deal is this?
Is diet snapple o.k.? It has no calories or carbs but I don't want to screw this up!

I am sure Iw ill have other questions along the way! I am almost done with day 2 and so far so good.....

ImOnMyWay
Tue, Mar-01-11, 20:20
Hello,

Welcome to the forums!

Keep reading your copy of Diet Revolution; it will answer some of your questions.

Just to clarify: you started eating low carb - February 28, 2011 - that is, yesterday?

If you overdo it on sodium, drink more water.

There are different opinions on whether or not to use artificial sweeteners. How much Diet Snapple are you talking about? I personally think it's fine to have a diet soda now and then.

But it's a good idea to start off with a "clean" induction. That is, for the first two weeks, eat or drink nothing that is not on the list of "legal" foods. You can't go wrong that way.

:)

amberview
Tue, Mar-01-11, 22:22