PDA

View Full Version : Freaked Out Newbie here(Calories?)

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

djbout
Tue, Aug-17-10, 12:18
Hello Fellow Low Carbers,

This is my second time doing Atkins, and first time using a forum such as this for support and tracking. I did loose about 20lbs the first time on this plan but had no idea how many calories I was eating, so I found the "My P.L.A.N" on this site and punched in the numbers yesterday and WOW I was blown away by how many total calories I consumed.

2082 total calories
18.9g Carbs 9 (28.2 total less 9.3g fibre)

Is this ok, should I be worried by my total calorie count? Or just keep tabs on my carbs?? I should mention that the first time around I did keep track of carbs "less fibre" to come to my total daily carb count and it seemed to work.

Thanks
Dianne

sondora88
Tue, Aug-17-10, 12:33
Hello, welcome to the forum! This is the first one I've joined for this kind of support too, and the people here are great!

My personal opinion is that I wouldn't worry too much about total calories -- what's more important is to make sure you are eating until you're full, and to stop when you are. :)
Something I really had trouble with at first!
I think its good to be aware of your total calories, but keeping tabs on carbs and where those are actually coming from would be first on my list.

JohnGibson
Tue, Aug-17-10, 12:37
Don't freak on the calories....

Eat until you are satisfied. As you low carb you will be less hungry, and you will require less food.

At some point in the process you will look up and ask "Is it lunch already"