PDA

View Full Version : How do you handle the scale??

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

joylorene
Mon, Feb-16-09, 14:29
So I have been exercising for a few months now - usually about 1hr on the treadmill 6 x a week and weight machines 3-4 times a week - yes I do feel good when I exercise and my clothes are getting loose but I just freak out when I weigh myself and I have a gain!!

I usually will always show a gain the next day after a good workout - then it takes a few days to go back down again - it just drives me crazy -

I determine my weightloss by my scale because it is numbers I can actually see - how do I get over this?? It is such a self defeating feeling - or do I just have to put up with it if I'm going to exercise?

tjf9
Tue, Feb-17-09, 11:45
Congratulations on the exercise! You're doing a great thing for your body, if not for the scale.

A lot of people advocate using your measurements as a guage for weightloss in addition to the scale. I'm too lazy for that option, but I think it's good advice. :) I have a bodyfat scale that I use instead. I notice that after a strength session in particular, I'll gain a pound or so, but the bodyfat % goes down. So by watching both numbers, I can still see some progress.

Hairballz
Wed, Feb-18-09, 07:23