PDA

View Full Version : Hi

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

lissa
Thu, Mar-07-02, 12:04
Hi My name is Lissa and I am from Central MN. I am very new to the diet and I have read most of the book. It is very confusing.
I really don't like meat much but I need to lose at least 60 lbs by June of this year.
Is it true that you subtract the fiber from the carb count?
Any help woudl be greatly appreciated as I am very confused at this stage.
HELP :wave: :confused:

LCer in NW
Thu, Mar-07-02, 13:02
Sure, it's possible to lose 60 pounds in 90 days, but rarely have we heard of such resounding successes. You'll need to hunt around the forum a bit to see examples. As body fat dwindles, the rate of loss usually slows dramatically.

Cheeses, fish and wild fowl are other excellent sources of protein and the all essential fats. But, you'll need some amount of red meat and other meats if diet is to be effective. After initial stage of the diet, suggest small amounts of nuts as well.

If you are really new to the low carb concept, you need to pay special attention to the water you consume. Based on your current weight, you should consume at least 14 glasses of water per day, but more if you are fairly active or thirsty, tired, or hungry. I drink about 16 glasses a day, and weigh 195 pounds.