PDA

View Full Version : Introduction

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Karla
Tue, Mar-05-02, 13:25
Hi everyone! This is my first post, although I have been lurking for about a week.

My name is Karla and I have been low-carbing since August 2000. Before that, over a period of five years I had gained close to 100 pounds without knowing why. I kept asking my doctor for help, but all he suggested was riding my exercise bike for 20 minutes a day. The only problem was that every time I tried that, it took about 2 minutes before I had that cold, clammy feeling you get just before you faint. It took moving to Vancouver, BC and a new doctor to discover that I was the new poster child for anemia and that my thyroid gland was napping.

Well, once those problems were solved I stopped gaining weight and felt a lot better, but I still wasn't losing weight. To be honest, I didn't try that hard because the food in Vancouver is terrific and it was a temporary move (excuse number 73, I think).

When we returned home to Massachusetts I tried to follow a low-fat diet, but couldn't stick to it because ... well, I don't have to explain that to y'all. I had never heard of low-carb diets until my father suggested that I read Dr. Atkins' book. After doing so I decided that I could follow any diet for two weeks and dove into the induction diet. My husband, partly to be supportive and partly out of curiosity, followed it too, even at work.