PDA

View Full Version : new low carber looking for support

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

montanama
Tue, Nov-27-07, 20:44
Hi, I'm pretty new to this low carb lifestyle. I've been following the Atkins plan for about 2 months now. I've lost a fair amount of weight but am finding it increasingly hard to not "cheat" and it feels like it could be the beginning of the dreaded slippery slop back to my old habits. Today was a bad day...so I've decided to look for some online buddies to help me through my tough times and who I can help out by doing the same for them. Also, any advice and/or helpful hints would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance to any responses.

kevsmama
Tue, Nov-27-07, 21:17
I have been there and done that. This time around I eat when I want to, but basically stick to the lo-carb stuff, that way even if or when I over do it it isn't so bad. Keep cream cheese on hand always I eat it when I want something sweet-mix it with sugar free dry jello or walden farms chocolate syrup is wonderful, pork rinds for when you want something crunchy or salty, even a few nuts work. How about sugar free jello-the little cups are spendy but they are also handy to take with you. Heavy cream is your friend and can be used in lots of ways. Check out the recipes in the forum-the 3 minute chocolate cake is wonderful and I substitute flax meal for the almond meal which brings the carbs down even lower! You can do it and just take 1 day at a time.

Kisal
Tue, Nov-27-07, 22:33
Welcome to the forums! Nice to have you here! :)

Check out the Kitchen forum here:

http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=2

And this site, too: