PDA

View Full Version : Question for the Ladies: Depo Provera

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

JennyAnkai
Fri, Feb-22-02, 13:01
I know this subject has been discussed before, but I'm rather new to low carbing, so hoping for some words of wisdom. I started this WOL on Jan. 1, 2002, and lost 7 pounds in 4 weeks (5'5, started at 151 and ended at 143). I know that's really fast. After 4 weeks, I got my first shot of Depo Provera. Since then, not only have I not lost a single ounce, but I've actually gained a couple of pounds, while eating very LC. Obviously, I won't be getting any more shots, but I was wondering: does anyone know if this inability to lose and weight gain from the Depo will subside soon, maybe once it's out of my system? I think maybe an IUD would be the best form of birth control for me, because there are no hormones released into your body (like the Pill or Depo) causing a weight loss slowdown or increase). Any thoughts or past experience from anyone on this subject?

JennyAnkai
Fri, Feb-22-02, 13:04
Forgot to mention: I'm almost tempted to give up and go back to a more low fat WOL because of my frustration with the weight gain/stall. Someone talk me out of this please!

MyDelaney
Fri, Feb-22-02, 17:07
I can't take any form of hormonal bc due to migraines, but I've talked to my ob/gyn about Depo Prevera before. She told me that it was almost pulled off the market because so many women were gaining huge amounts of weight on it. I'd definately attribute your stall to the shot.

The shot is mostly progesterone which is the hormone, that, during pms causes you to be really hungry. :(

I'm sorry you're stalling out, good luck.

JennyAnkai