PDA

View Full Version : What I learned last summer

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

LC Lulu
Sun, Feb-17-02, 16:27
Last summer I had been lowcarbing for two years, and lost a total of about 45 lbs, most of which came off the first year. So that would be a "stall" of about a year. I don't like calling it a stall, I'm just preparing for maintenance :-)

Let me preface this with saying my reason for eating low-carb is that I feel great eating this way, more energy, no heartburn, all those things we all know and love about our WOE... along with my history of dieting (mostly low-fat, ultra low-fat, WW, etc)... knowing that when I "diet" I never make "goal" and needed to simply change my eating habits forever and not get hung up on weightloss... This is a psychological thing for me and has worked to keep me from those terrible binges that come from feeling deprived or feeling guilty.

Anyway, last summer, after reading a lot on the Texas LC list, I decided to see if dropping dairy would have any effect on my year-long "maintenance practice." Up till then I would have a protein shake every day for breakfast (Caroline's famous shake -- cottage cheese, cream, protein powder, eggbeaters... and I added instant coffee and SF vanilla syrup for a frozen latte-like shake).