PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Copalisbch
Sat, Jul-21-07, 21:12
Hello everyone,

I had a doctors appt. two weeks ago and had a fasting blood sugar level of 115 and at a follow-up appt had a blood sugar level of 255 with a glucometer. This was enough for a wake up call. I have been on Atkins before and lost a fair amount of weight, so I thought I had better try it again (for a lifetime). My biggest fear is Diabetes. I told my doctor that I wanted to try getting my blood sugar level down by diet and to give me a month. I am starting my third week. I am in ketosis and feeling awesome. I have more energy and I know I have lost weight because my clothes are loose. I refuse to get on a scale...getting on a scale is always the kiss of death for me. I know how much I weighed before starting and I will weigh in about 6 months. My hubby is dieting by counting calories and fat. We will see the difference in our results. :D

Kisal
Sat, Jul-21-07, 22:00
Welcome, Copalisbch! It's nice to meet you and have you here with us! :)

May you have the best of luck on your journey to better health. :thup:

joesfolks
Sun, Jul-22-07, 18:18
Just wanted to welcome you and wish you success.

lexy-lou
Sun, Jul-22-07, 21:12
Yes, best wishes for a wonderful weight loss journey. I like your idea of weighing in after 6 months. The tape measure (used in moderation) is much more realistic and affirming than a scale. Right now I limit myself to getting on the scale to only twice a week, but really that's too much. I like your approach.

WH1968
Mon, Jul-23-07, 11:30