PDA

View Full Version : I am new at this!

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

stephie
Tue, Feb-12-02, 16:30
Hi! My name is Stephanie and I have been thinking about doing the Atkins diet for a while, but never got around to it. About two nights ago, I found this forum and all the sucess stories..and I was totally inspired. I kind of want to wait and start on Monday of next week. I am a college student and on a cafeteria meal plan. I was wondering during induction what types of veggies and meats are permitted. We have a salad bar and I thought I would eat eggs and bacon for breakfast, but for lunch we serve sandwiches(is lunch meat permitted?) What about hamburger without a bun of course. I just need a little info..so anyone that could help...I would greatly appreciate it! Thanks! :)

LCer in NW
Tue, Feb-12-02, 17:04
I would definitely say your meal ticket is a godsend. You need to really pour over the book to convince yourself of what can be eaten. You can have as much beef, chicken, lunch meat as you want, except there are probably carbs added to some of the lunchmeats. Also, I would not go on the diet until you do one thing first.

Get used to the taste of water, and increase your consumption of water to the appropriate level before trying the diet. This will help you separate the effects of the water increase from the effects of the induction of the diet.

Add water to your diet for at least 3 weeks, but ideally for about 2 months. Eat exactly the foods in the same quantities as you normally eat, but add the water. You'll likely lose about 1 pound a month doing just this (I lost 4 pounds in 5 months). Add multivitamins to your diet as well.