PDA

View Full Version : Depression

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

ClNNAMON
Tue, Jan-22-02, 09:17
Hi guys, I am new to low carbing. I have been taking antidepressants for 5 years now. I am currently taking celexa. I was just wondering if anyone else here is on antidepressants and how it affects their weight-loss. Thanks!

Pixie
Tue, Jan-22-02, 10:27
Hi Cinnamon, Im new here too and Im also on medication. Im on prozac and have been for about 12 months so I too would like to know the answer if anyone can help us.

Thanks

Emma

Karen
Tue, Jan-22-02, 11:08
Hi CINNAMON and pixie,

This is from atkinscenter.com, via Doreen, in a thread on stallers (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?s=&postid=978&highlight=birth+control#post978) :

"(4) Medications: Virtually all medications will inhibit weight loss to some degree, with prescription medications being the most problematic. The most incompatible medications are: 1) Diuretics (water pills) 2) Psychotropic drugs, including prozac, zoloft, lithium, etc. 3) Hormones and steroids, including estrogen (premarin), birth control pills and prednisone. 4) Arthritic drugs, especially NSAIDS (Non-Steroidal Anti-Inflammatory Drugs) 5) Cholesterol lowering drugs. 6) All anti-diabetic medications, including insulin with the exception of glucophage. 7) Tranquilizers 8) Seizure medications. Please DO NOT COME OFF MEDICATIONS BY YOURSELF without medical supervision."

Karen

Pixie
Tue, Jan-22-02, 13:48
Thanks for the info Karen :D

Emma

ladybugvv
Tue, Jan-22-02, 14:02