PDA

View Full Version : Starting New Again

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

MartinMom
Tue, Jul-11-06, 10:13
Hello Everyone,
I'm just beginning on Atkins today. I'll be turning 40 next March and am determined to be Fit and Fabulous at Forty, rather than Fat & Forty. I want to start the second half of my life off right. My father was diagnosed this year with Type II diabetes. So that he could avoid going on medicine, he began cutting carbs from his diet. He's now 39 pounds slimmer, doesn't need diabetes medication, and his blood pressure and cholesterol readings (110/70, and 139) are better than they were in his 30's. He's inspired me to follow his example. I would like to ultimately shed 40 pounds.
I just spent some time on this website and it looks very helpful and the people on the forums seem great. Wish me luck!

pennym
Tue, Jul-11-06, 11:29
Congratulations and best of luck to you! I was also inspired by my mother's type II, so I know this scary feeling.

MartinMom
Wed, Jul-12-06, 08:49
Thanks for the support, Penny. You're stats look great - you're more than half way there - good for you!

Started off the day well this morning, but I'm still a little food-obsessed. I know this will pass, but I'm eager to get there ASAP. There are thunderstorms threats this morning, so I might be indoors most of the day. I think I'll try to get in some exercise...:wiggle:

I like these little smiley guys - they're cute!

MartinMom
Thu, Jul-13-06, 09:00