PDA

View Full Version : Athletic peformance while LCing??

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

bkettle
Fri, Jan-11-02, 10:01
High this is my first time posting here. I started LC dieting 1/2/02 and have been pretty good about both the diet and excercizing so far.

In my last couple of workouts, I am seemingly not able to sustain the same speeds/duration in cardio work or get the same number of reps when lifting. Its a small difference for now, but its there. Is this normal? Is it a sign I need more protein, like I dont each a lot already.

I have been weight lifting for a year and it can be discouraging to not get that little incremental improvement session over session, much less back slide, any insight would be appreciated.

As for the diet itself, I started at ~240 and 30% BF, now 8 days in the scale bounces between 233 and 237 from day to day. So I think I am slowly dropping.

Thanks, Bruce

Natrushka
Fri, Jan-11-02, 10:45
Bruce, I'm no expert here, but I can suggest a few things. Are you eating enough - enough calories AND enough protein and carbs? I'm also doing PP nutrition and lifting and I find if my carbs get too low everything else suffers - Are you keeping track of how many grams you're eating a day?

I'm going to assume that using PP you've figured out your lean body mass from the charts/ forumlas - did you up your protein to take into account the weight training? I typically eat 1 - 1.3g of protein per lb of LBM (this works out to 150 - 185g a day for me).

As for the carbs, you do need some - more than the typical PP follower - usually at least Phase II nutrition (50 - 70g a day).