PDA

View Full Version : Questions about diet soda

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Barou
Mon, Apr-17-06, 09:12
Hello everyone, I am a newbie that started my Atkin's diet on 4/10/06. My first week started off great but tailed off at the end. I kept very disciplined and didn't cheat but I lost 2 lbs over the week. Not bad but not great. At one time I lost 8 lbs but then put on 6. Is that normal for a low-carb diet to lose a lot and gain some back?

Anyway, I am drinking about 4 cans a day of caffeine free diet pepsi per day, is this hurting me? I still get my 64 ounces of water a day but I like to drink soda with my meals. If caf. free diet pepsi is not a good beverage alternative, are there any other diet sodas that are better?

bkloots
Mon, Apr-17-06, 09:27
Dr. Atkins strongly discourages the use of artificial sweeteners. Many people report that substances like aspartame, and excessive use of Splenda, cause stalling problems. Four cans of pop per day is a lot.

The only way for you to know for sure about YOU is to experiment with YOU. So...bite the bullet, and cut out the Pepsi--and all other artificially sweetened beverages--for a few days. See what happens. That's the best information you could get.

Weight fluctuations are common. A 3-5 lb. range over a few days is not unusual. It's the trend, not the day-to-day, that you should be noticing.

Best wishes.

MeBLady
Mon, Apr-17-06, 09:32