PDA

View Full Version : High Fat or High Protien?

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

vavcon
Mon, Mar-20-06, 08:00
:help:
Hi All,

Getting close to the end of my second month on lowcarb and the results are less than stellar thus far. However, I am committed - I'm just getting into the "experimentation" phase to get a handle on the best way for my body to shed fat.

In that vein, I've seen posts about high fat (80/10/5) plans, as well as PSMF, which is high protien, lower fat.

I'd love it if some veterans of each would hop in and give the theory behind each, and some pro's and con's. The two times I've been successful at losing weight, I've done more of a PSMF thing but I've really had to drive my calories way down (~800 p/day) and workout like a fiend. I'd prefer a plan that is more sustainable long term (I'm more of a reader and web surfer than a workout junkie, for sure!). I know that I lose better when I exercise and will continue, but I'd like to eat for optimal loss as well.

So...anyone tried both? And?

TIA,
Chris

ProfGumby
Mon, Mar-20-06, 08:14
Is BOTH a good answer? ;)

I personally would opt towards higher protein if you are working out/exercising/weight lifting or hiher fat if you are mildly active and just LC ing.

I have upped my protein but not decreased the fat so much. Though I have never measured the actual balance, since working out I am making sure AI am consuming enough protien and the rest is just following along by default.

vavcon
Mon, Mar-20-06, 08:21
Hi Professor!