PDA

View Full Version : New LC'er

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

If Only
Tue, Mar-14-06, 13:38
:wave:
Hi, I am new to the LC world. I have gained a great amount of weight and I am very unhappy with it.

I had been in Atkins for a week and love it. I also noticed I am a carb-addict since I had eliminated the constant need to be munching with this form of eating .

Still, I realize that must of the weight I lost had been water and I am wondering if I should stop induction in a week or keep gong.

Also, in the past I would loose 3-5 pounds in 1 day but, maybe due to my age, I am not getting those results anymore.
Could it be this diet is not for me? I hope it is since I love it and I love how I feel while in it.
BTW, I walk daily and go to the gym 1 to 2 times a week.

Also, I would love to find a partner in one of you so we can check on each other often and find help thru the ruff times.

:thup: Awesome site!

SidC
Tue, Mar-14-06, 23:00
Hi, welcome to you. Isn't it great how Atkins means no hunger, no cravings? True that much of the initial weight loss is water, but that's just your body readjusting to this way of eating (WOE).

And losing 9 pounds in your first week on this is great, not something to worry about. Seriously - you say that in the past you lost 3-5 lbs in one day, but did that weight stay off? IMHO, stick it out for another week on induction, then start gradually adding the carbs back in at 5 grams more per day each week until you find out what you can tolerate. You say that you feel great and you're loving it - so why would you want to change at this point? You're doing great.

scrapbookr
Wed, Mar-15-06, 08:43