PDA

View Full Version : First time on atkins wondering if i could get help

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

josh2154
Wed, Jan-02-02, 11:32
This is my first time using the atkins diet I was wondering if i could have some of these following meats

Hamburger
Roast Beef (fried and not fried)
Chicken
Fish
Steak
Pork Chop

and I heard that one day out of the week you can have like 3 slices of pizza because your supposed to get enough carbs to not get sick or somthing??

thanks

agonycat
Wed, Jan-02-02, 11:41
All meats you have listed are a okay!

As far as pizza goes....um BIG NO NO!

Have you read the book? If not pick up a copy or go to the library and borrow one.

No bread. No pasta. No rice. No beans. No high starchy veggies aka potatoes. No bananas. No sugar. No flour whatsoever. No processed cheese or meat products. No peas or carrots.

The diet consists of mainly unprocessed meats (those you have listed), veggies (salad greens, green beans, mushrooms, broccoli, cauliflower), heavy cream, butter, cheese, eggs. The book actually has a list of foods by type that you can have. (Another reason to get the book)

If you eat your veggies you will get plenty of carbs not to get "sick". Main point of the diet is to get away from those fattening type foods and eat healthier.

:)

josh2154
Wed, Jan-02-02, 11:45
wait i just had fried roast beef w/ 1 slice of american cheese is that ok (is the cheese ok?) and a water for a drink

and whats the book called?

agonycat
Wed, Jan-02-02, 11:48
Processed cheese is cheese containing other ingredients other than dairy. Like veletta, cheese whiz, also some cheeze slices are processed so read the label!