PDA

View Full Version : Should have introduced myself a while back

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Bakerchic
Mon, Feb-13-06, 14:40
But I think I'm going to be on this forum a lot more than I thought, so here goes the formal introduction of me, Bakerchic.

Though I'm not new to low-carbing, you could say I'm new to the fundamentals of nutrition as I'm now learning more about low-carbing and nutrition vs. low-carb the diet to lose weight fast.

Off the bat, I am now 19 and I have been eating disordered since age 12 going through periods of anorexia and bulimia, and found that low-carbing or eating natural foods tends to quell my outrageous appetite that has been due to cyclic restricting followed by periods of bingeing. I first started reading about low-carb when I was 12 actually, but my first serious attempts were after I failed to develope a period and learned about PCOS and how low-carbing can control symptoms of IR like cystic ovaries, though for some reason do not have cysts, I still display the typical symptoms of PCOS like sporadic facial and body hair (not as bad as some, but became conscience of it nonetheless), amenorrhea and weight gain, or should I say, failure to thrive on a high carb diet. Also low-carbing in the management of bulimia, which I think is less of a psychological problem and due largely in part to a bad diet followed on the advice given by mainstream medical doctors and the FDA, AMA, and other three headed, I mean lettered monsters. So low-carbing is adding a new dimension in my life.