PDA

View Full Version : About diet drinks...

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Nightwind
Sat, Dec-29-01, 22:37
I have one quick question.

Do diet drinks slow or stop the process of loosing weight on the atkins diet? My personal favorite is the diet (artificially flavored) koolaid. I need to know if I must find a new favorite 0 carb drink.

I can't seem to find a straight answer anywhere.

Thanks in advance.

-Nightwind

HeyCE
Sun, Dec-30-01, 14:35
Nightwind, love your name.

I am not an expert at all as I've only been doing this a week (successfully!!). I quickly realized that my love of Diet Pepsi had to be tamed. Water is now my main drink (80 ozs. a day for me) and I treat my Diet Pepsi (and Vernor's and Fresca) as treats. All that water truly is important!! After about the third day, I had a huge flush out of ze old bod and know that all that water was essential.

I too will enjoy reading the expert answer! ;)

Karen
Sun, Dec-30-01, 15:06
It depends on how you physically react to artificial sweeteners, but to be on the safe side, it's better to not be dependent upon artificial sweeteners.

We had a great discussion a couple of days ago on the subject. It's right here. (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=28231&perpage=15&pagenumber=2)

Karen

Nightwind
Sun, Dec-30-01, 18:54
Thanks for the compliment ;)

Also, thanks for the info regarding diet drinks (I will attempt to get use to the quite foul tasting Indianapolis city water).

Thank you :)

-Nightwind

Elihnig
Mon, Dec-31-01, 06:18