PDA

View Full Version : Hi...newbie here!

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

tonibaby
Tue, Oct-18-05, 15:41
Hi All! Just wanted to pop in and introduce myself and give you my story....

I have been yo-yoing on the diet front for several years now losing and gaining the same 40 pounds over and over. Tried every diet imaginable, including Atkins! Haven't been able to stick to any of them for any extended period of time. Joined my local Curves about 2 months ago and have been working out and have managed to lose a few pounds so I decided that now would be the time to kick it up with another attempt at changing the way I eat. Began Atkins about 1 month ago but am having a hard time making it through the induction phase. I'll do okay for a couple of days but then the cravings take over and I have "just one bite" and it is all over for a day or two. All my hard work down the drain! I start again and do good for a few more days and then repeat the cycle. Classic Yo-Yo syndrome, ya know!! I know this is the best plan for me because when I am doing good I feel great and have tons of energy but I just can't seem to make myself stick to it. Anyone have any advice for me on how to get through induction so I can move on to the next level? All help is appreciated! :D

JohnGibson
Tue, Oct-18-05, 15:53
After two days you are hitting the main withdrawal symptoms. Sugar, I believe, is one of the worst things for me I actually had the shakes when I went off of it.

I am by no means an expert, but I will tell you what I have learned:

1) Make sure that you eat your veggies. Your body needs these for fiber and for nutrients.