PDA

View Full Version : Thyroid Issues?

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

truckgirl
Fri, Sep-09-05, 12:54
Any of you ladies experienced sluggish thyroid? What were your symptoms and how have you treated it? I don't want to jump to conclusions, so I'll just list my symptoms and listen to what you have to say: :)
1. Losing hair
2. Hard time getting out of bed in the AM, and sleepy in the afternoon, or any time I sit for an extended period of time
3. Body temp between 95.6 and 96.8

I've been LCing for about 3 years now, so I doubt this has anything to do with cutting out the carbs. :)

athensmom
Fri, Sep-09-05, 13:28
Your symptoms are certainly consistent with a thyroid abnormality but could also be caused by other things. I would suggest you call your doctor and get your thyroid checked, especially if you have a history of thyroid problems in your family. It can be hereditary.

The hair loss could be caused by LCing - I have heard this before. Are you taking a daily vitamin?

nawchem
Fri, Sep-09-05, 14:07
I would say yes those sound like hypothyroid. My other symptoms have been:

freezing cold, taking lots of baths to warmup
tendon or joint pain that comes and goes for no reason
heavy periods that lasted 1-2 days and came earlier than usual
dry skin where I had oily before
broken fingernails
thinning edge eyebrows
craving things to pick up my energy- caffeine and sugar
not doing anything I didn't have to do because I was always tired
couldn't remember my friends names
poor reflexes when driving
thought writing an email was a tiring activity

truckgirl
Fri, Sep-09-05, 14:31